

## RIVER VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT

660 West Daley Street

Spring Green, Wisconsin 53588

131

Phone: 608-588-2551

## **School Board Elections**

The Board of the River Valley School District shall be elected at the annual spring election, following the procedure outlined for such election by the state statutes.

Per state statute, Board members shall be elected at large by a plurality vote of the electors of the district. One representative shall be elected from each of the following geographic areas:

Area #	Area Name	Municipalities and Counties in A	rea
1	Village of Arena	Village of Arena - Iowa County	
2	Town of Arena	Town of Arena - Iowa County Town of Ridgeway - Iowa County Town of Black Earth - Dane County	
3	Town of Clyde	Town of Clyde - Iowa County	
4	Village of Lone Rock	Village of Lone Rock - Richland County	
5	Town of Bear Creek; All of Richland County in the district except the Village of Lone Rock	Town of Bear Creek - Sauk County Town of Buena Vista - Richland County Town of Ithaca - Richland County	
6	Village of Spring Green	Village of Spring Green- Sauk County	
7	All of Sauk County in the district except The Village of Spring Green, Village of Plain, and Town of Bear Creek	Town of Spring Green - Sauk County Town of Honey Creek - Sauk County Town of Franklin - Sauk County Town of Troy - Sauk County	
8	Town of Wyoming	Town of Wyoming - Iowa County	
9	Village of Plain	Village of Plain - Sauk County	

Geographic area legal descriptions and a map showing the areas shall be on file in the central office.

Three members of the nine-member Board shall be elected each year.

An elected Board member's term of office shall commence on the fourth Monday in April. Before taking office, a Board member must take and sign an oath of office administered by the Board Clerk or other official as authorized by law.

LEGAL REF.: Sections 120.02 Wisconsin Statutes

120.06 120.17(10)

CROSS REF.: Policy #131.1 - Board Member Qualifications

APPROVED: February 9, 1989
REVISED: August 8, 1996
APPROVED: August 22, 1996
REVISED: November 12, 2020
APPROVED: December 10, 2020